RSS

Rules

07 May
The Nunly Ruler

Are the rules you’ve created for your life working for you or against you?

Last night I sat down and had a long conversation with myself.  Things in my life have been going good, not great, but good and the reason I say this is because of this pending lawsuit from the hospital for medical bills I’ve been making payments on. I’ve called an attorney and am waiting for her to call back, and no matter what I do I can’t seem to still my mind. My mind keeps wanting to rehearse my story and it is very frustrating. I keep examining things I might say in my defense and of things they might say to attack me. I roll words over and over in my mind and since I don’t have enough information (yet) I have no resolution and my mind goes right back to the examining table, back to a scene I create in my mind of the courtroom. This also made me think of all the rules I have in my life. I was stunned at the rules I have just for eating alone! I have rules about what to eat, when to eat, why I eat, how to eat, with whom to eat, whether to drink when I eat, how long it should take to eat a meal, how many hours I can eat something before I go to bed, how cold or hot things should be when I eat them, how I should cook what I eat… the rules appear endless, and this goes on every day of my life, at every meal of my life, every snack. I decided last night that I have too many rules and I sat down and meditated for 15 minutes to see if an answer would come to me that could rectify my ‘rule’ situation. This is what came to me:

I will follow two rules:

I will drink 64 oz. of Heavenly Swamp Water every day to help alkalize my system because I believe alkalizing can prevent many diseases and this is very important to me.

If I don’t know what to do or how to do something I will ask for a way.

That’s it. That’s the extent of the rules I will follow.

This morning when I found my mind wandering to courtroom and attorney scenarios and I said to my mind, “Stop. You still don’t have enough information to make an informed decision so stop thinking about it. As soon as you have the information you can decide what to do or decide you need more information.”

And when it came to eating, I chose something to eat, drank my green water and said, “This I do for my body because I love it so much!” And when it came to repeating the courtroom scenario in my mind and said stop it, I also added, “I will stop thinking this way. This I do for my soul because I love it so much.” What a difference this one little statement made in how I felt and in my perception of things.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment